Santiago de Cangas Excolegiata
The Ex-Collegiate Cangas is the great artistic jewel Cangas Township along with cruceiro of HIO. Most of the building dates from the sixteenth century, although it is believed that the original temple dates back at least a century ago. For nearly 500 years has lived modifications and contributions of every age and style.
Pope Paul III elevated it to the rank of Collegiate in 1545 but it was not until 40 years later when he got up the facade designed by Jacome Fernández in 1585, one of the finest examples of Renaissance art in Galicia. The tower is divided into two bodies of the eighteenth century.
The Ex-Collegiate has a chapel with a spectacular baroque altarpiece of 1744 and other shrines with carvings of great artistic value. The figure of Christ carved by Juan del Consuelo Pintos in 1796.
Church with a large central tower with Baroque ornamentation inspired style and magnificent facade compostelano eighteenth century by the brothers Novas.
Also stresses the rectory with two shields bearing the likeness of the Blessed Sacrament and the heraldic symbol of the Mondragón respectively.
From the church you can see stunning views of the Ria de Vigo and began a path to a natural area with abundant oak.
The church of San Cibrán of Aldan is the best example of neoclassical art town of Cangas original construction dating back to the sixteenth century but was completely rebuilt in 1866.
In the front is the image of St. Cyprian and a two-story central tower with balustrade.
Next to the church there are other elements of interest such as the wall of the counts of Aldan, a curious mausoleum Aldán Tower, the manor of Vistalegre, the medieval bridge over the river Orxas and medieval sarcophagus of A Laxe.
Chapel of the early eighteenth century originally belonging to the Hospital of Cangas. After the demise of the institution the chapel was moved and rebuilt in the Gardens of the Sign in 2002. Currently used as an exhibition hall.
Church of San Andrés de Hío
The church is a collection of many different styles result of alterations and modifications which has suffered throughout its history. Maintains Romanesque facade decoration, the corbels of the roof and a Latin cross. The interior features gothic vaults combined with Baroque coffered.
The eardrum focuses all our interest considering the motif depicted: the X Xristus.On both sides of this, children figures holding a book or instruments.
The Church of Hío is important for its famous stone cross, Cerviño master's work.
Old town of Cangas
Antonio Street Garelly kept in very good condition a "house of skate" quintessential seafood house, and in Paul's Churches will surprise the huge gates, once used to store fishing boats. The Real Rua knightly find old mansions with their coats of arms and impressive buildings of the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries with their facades carved granite and galleries.
Alongside the main architectural gem that holds the town, the former Collegiate Santiago, found the statue of St. James, one of the most famous images of the historic.
Through the Rua do Hío, we headed Eirado do Costal, heart of which was the original nucleus of Cangas. Meandering streets Its many beautiful houses skate alternating these with other forms of marine abode, as the "house terrera" his oldest precedent, and "left home" or between walls. Also here a granary of curious surprise location on a wall.
A shield eroded, which once hosted the emblem of the Inquisition, called our attention to climb the singulis Rua.This will access the square of the same name, led by a wonderful baroque cruceiro and framed by a splendid group of houses skate.
(Source: City Council of Cangas).